BOOK A STAY

Konventa Sēta
history


Konventa Sēta complex is a unique historical architectural ensemble dating back to 13th century being residence for the Order of the Brothers of the Sword

Unveiling the Past

Konventa Sēta complex is a unique historical architectural ensemble dating back to 13th century being residence for the Order of the Brothers of the Sword.

After Order left for a new residence, Konventa Sēta acquired by the Convent of the Holy Spirit, which sets up a shelter here. This is how the name of the Convention homestead came about.

From 1554, only shelters, residential houses and warehouses were located here. In the following centuries, the Convent homestead suffered several fires and underwent several reconstructions. At the beginning of the 18th century, the current construction composition of the Konventa Sēta was formed.
By the middle of 20th century, the buildings of the Konventa Sēta were exposed to the ravages of time and gradually collapsed and disappeared from the sight of Riga’s residents.

With the close cooperation of Latvian and German architects and builders, the restoration of the historical ensemble was carried out, and by 1996 and Konventa Sēta was reopened in a new form to all residents and guests of the city. It is in this place, surrounded by medieval buildings, that the beautiful and freshly-renovated in 2023 Konventa Sēta Hotel is located with its nine houses – Melnais Balodis, Raibais Balodis, Smēde, Stallis, Kampenhauzens, Dārza māja, Pelēko Māsu māja, Pie Mūra and Pie Klostera vārtiem.

The evidence of history, which is still preserved by the ancient walls of Konventa Sēta is a surprise and a temptation for every guest.